Recorded throughout the first half of 2008, Euphonia sees Lawrence English and Tom Hall team up to explore a range of extended processing and compositional techniques. Inspired in equal parts by the openness of Cluster's Kraut explorations, echoes of Eno's ambient works, contemporary field recording and minimal electronics, Euphonia creates a uniform sense of warmth and glow - a sonic rendering of glimpsed views from some distant, hazy horizon.
Working with various instruments, analog equipment, electronics, as well as a variety of 'in the field' processes (whereby sounds created in the studio were re-recorded in various environments such as dilapidated water tanks on a farm), the record is a tempered with a sense of muted restraint and subtle variation.
<< >>
format: cd

Lawrence English / Tom Hall "Euphonia"

total time: 38.18

01 lines twine oscillation
02 press, breath
03 veiled twilight
04 in an absence (>>>)
05 fluttering animations
06 ...tend
07 mute rings


limited edition: 300 design: lorenzo senni release date: 16/10/08 catalog number: P!?003
Sold out > buy digital version from DIOGENES